Media Releases

Wheelchair Rugby League announces Australian Test Squad & Coaching Staff

Wheelchair Rugby League Australia has announced a 16-man train-on squad for the upcoming two-match Test Series against England in October.

Majority of the squad has been selected after strong performances in the Wheelchair State of Origin held back in July, with 11 of the 16-man squad chosen from the victorious New South Wales side.

The squad will go into camp September 21-22 at the Hawkesbury Indoor Stadium for training before a final squad of ten is chosen for the fixtures on October 21st (Sydney) and 23rd (Wollongong).

“We’re delighted with the squad that Brett Clark has chosen and are looking forward to hosting the 2019 Test Series against our old rivals England,” Wheelchair Australia Rugby League Chairman, Martin Meredith said.

“There’s some great players putting in the work now and I’m sure come October it will result in another thrilling contest for fans, family and friends who get to witness the series first-hand.”

Australian train-on squad

Liam Luff – NSW

Davin Bretherthon – QLD

Jason Attard – NSW

Shaun Harre – QLD

Cory Cannane – NSW

James Hill – QLD

Brad Grove – NSW

Zachary Schmacher – QLD

Brett Henman – NSW

Cory Mostran – QLD/NT

Michael Johnson – NSW

William Derederenalagi – NSW

Craig Cannane – NSW

Edge Lole – NSW

Yara Ryan – NSW

Stephan Rochecouste – NSW

The squad announcement was also supported by the news that David Nugent (Manager) and Brad Turnbull (Trainer) will be joining Head Coach, Brett Clark, as they prepare the team for the representative clash.

Media Contact:

Joanne Ryan | Infodec Communications for Wheelchair Rugby League Australia | 0421 059 866
Photographs attached: NSWvQLD team, Brett Clark (Head Coash), David Nugent (Manager, Brad Turnbull (Trainer)


Leave a Reply